

THE HON MARK DREYFUS KC MP

ATTORNEY-GENERAL CABINET SECRETARY MEMBER FOR ISAACS

<u>Protection visa and migration case appointments to the Federal Circuit and Family Court of Australia (Division 2)</u>

I am pleased to announce the appointment nine new Judges to increase the capacity of the Federal Circuit and Family Court of Australia (Division 2) to hear protection visa and migration cases.

These appointments have been made following an open call for expressions of interest across Australia. All applications were considered by an advisory panel comprised of eminent individuals.

In the 2023-24 MYEFO context the Government announced a \$160 million package of reforms to restore integrity to Australia's refugee protection system. The package responded to the findings of the Nixon Report, that processing delays were 'motivating bad actors to take advantage by lodging increasing numbers of non-genuine applications for protection'.

The package included a significant investment in new judges for the Federal Circuit and Family Court of Australia to increase its capacity to deal with backlogs of protection visa and migration-related caseloads.

Today I announce that Mr Philip Corbett KC, Ms Amanda Coulthard, Ms Kate Cuthbertson SC, Mr Arran Gerrard, Mr Val Gostencnik, Ms Sheila Kaur, Mr Bernard McCabe, Mr Peter Papadopoulos, and Ms Rania Skaros have been appointed to the Federal Circuit and Family Court of Australia (Division 2), across the Brisbane, Sydney, Parramatta, Melbourne, and Adelaide Registries. They will commence on 5 August 2024.

On behalf of the Australian Government, I congratulate them on their appointments and thank them for

their willingness to serve the people of Australia as Judges of the Federal Circuit and Family Court of Australia.

Biographical details

Philip Corbett KC

Mr Corbett graduated from Monash University with a Bachelor of Arts in 1986 and a Bachelor of Laws in 1988 and graduated with a Master of Laws from the University of Melbourne in 2007. He was admitted to practice in 1989, signed the Victorian Bar roll in 1993 and took silk in 2012. He is a nationally accredited mediator and accredited advocacy coach.

Amanda Coulthard

Ms Coulthard graduated with a Bachelor of Laws (Hons) from the University of Queensland in 1982, and with a Master of Laws from Bond University in 1994. She was admitted to practice in 1982 and signed the Queensland Bar roll in 2010.

Kate Cuthbertson SC

Ms Cuthbertson graduated with a Bachelor of Arts from the University of Melbourne in 1993 and a Bachelor of Laws (First Class Honours) from the University of Tasmania in 1998. Ms Cuthbertson was admitted to practice in 1999 and signed the Tasmanian Bar roll in 2010. She took silk in 2022. She has been a member of the Tasmanian Civil and Administrative Tribunal since 2021, and prior to that was a member of the Tasmanian Mental Health Tribunal and Anti-Discrimination Tribunal.

Arran Gerrard

Mr Gerrard graduated with a Bachelor of Arts (Hons) from Curtin University in 1993 and a Bachelor of Laws from Murdoch University in 1999. Mr Gerrard was admitted to practice in 2000. He has worked in the Australian Government Solicitor's office since 2003, where he is currently a Senior Executive Lawyer.

Val Gostencnik

Mr Gostencnik graduated with a Bachelor of Economics (Hons) from La Trobe University in 1984 and a Bachelor of Laws (Hons) from Monash University in 1993. He also holds a postgraduate diploma in Industrial Relations from Victoria University. Mr Gostencnik was admitted to practice in 1995. He has been a Deputy President of the Fair Work Commission since 2013 and was previously a Partner of Corrs Chambers Westgarth.

Sheila Kaur-Bains

Ms Kaur graduated with a Bachelor of Laws (Hons) from the University of Warwick in 1988. Ms Kaur was admitted to practice in Western Australia in 1991 and signed the New South Wales Bar roll in 1996. She is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Bernard McCabe

Mr McCabe graduated with a Bachelor of Arts and a Bachelor of Laws from the University of New South Wales in 1990, and with a Master of Laws from Bond University in 1996. Mr McCabe was admitted to practice in 1990. He has been Deputy President and Division Head at the Administrative Appeals

Tribunal since 2016 and was appointed as Member and Senior Member prior to becoming Deputy President.

Peter Papadopoulos

Mr Papadopoulos graduated from the University of Melbourne with a Bachelor of Commerce (Hons) in 1992 and with a Bachelor of Laws (Hons) in 1994. Mr Papadopoulos was admitted to practice in 1996. He is an accredited specialist in immigration law and practised as a solicitor for 20 years before being appointed as a member of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal in 2022.

Rania Skaros

Ms Skaros graduated with a Bachelor of Arts and a Bachelor of Laws (Hons) from the Australian National University in 1999. Ms Skaros was admitted to practice in 2001. She has been a member or senior member of the Migration and Refugee Review Tribunal and subsequently the Administrative Appeals Tribunal, from 2011 onwards.

Monday, 5 August 2024

Media contacts:

Stephen Spencer 0423 596 573 - <u>Stephen.Spencer@ag.gov.au</u>
Bella Skelton 0475 216 424 - <u>Bella.Skelton@ag.gov.au</u>