

New South Wales Bar Association – 2019/2020 Committees

Below are the membership lists for the Bar Association's 2019/2020 committees.

The new committees formally come into effect on 8 July 2019. However, in practice the 'changeover' will occur over the next week. The Committee secretary will be in contact with the outgoing and new committees to settle the details.

As happens every year, we have received an overwhelming number of offers to assist in the work of the committees. It is simply not possible to take up everyone's offer. Thank you to everyone who volunteered to serve.

It is important for there to be some turnover in committee membership each year and that committee membership reflects as wide a cross-section of the Bar as possible. There is neither room on a committee, nor is it fair to others who wish to be on a committee, for members who (for whatever reason) are not able to make a sustained contribution to the work of their committees. In addition, in order to accommodate the interests of as many members as possible, and to maximise the opportunities available to members, as a general rule, no applicant will sit on more than two committees. The new committees have been chosen with all these things in mind.

During the year the Bar Council will inevitably need the assistance of members on a wide range of matters that do not fall within a committee's jurisdiction. Sometimes, some committees have more work than they can manage. Assistance may be sought from those who have volunteered but who at this time we have been unable to place on a committee.

I would like to thank all those members who are not continuing on a committee this year for all their assistance in past years. It is in accordance with the highest standards of the profession that so many members of the Bar keep offering to work on committees, often for many years.

Tim Game SC <u>President</u>

4 July 2018



Alternative Dispute Resolution Committee

Mary Walker (Chair) Hon Stephen O'Ryan QC Stephen Walsh QC Max Kimber SC Greg Laughton SC John Fernon SC Steven Goldstein Neil Jackson Tom Davie Hugh Stowe Jodi Steele Fiona Sinclair Terry Mehigan Declan Roche Louise Mathias Wilson Chan Mary Rebehy Julie Kearney Navid Sedaghati

Mark Darian-Smith

Bar News Committee

Ingmar Taylor SC (Chair) Anthony Cheshire SC Gail Furness SC Farid Assaf SC Dominic Villa SC Penny Thew Sean O'Brien Kavita Balendra Daniel Klineberg Catherine Gleeson Victoria Brigden Kevin Tang Ann Bonnor Belinda Baker Stephen Ryan Joe Edwards Christina Trahanas

Common Law Committee

Robert Sheldon SC (Chair)
Simon Harben SC
Tony Bartley SC
Nicholas Chen SC
Paresh Khandhar SC
Michael Inglis
Richard Sergi
Elizabeth Welsh
Andrew Combe
Eva Elbourne
Kavita Balendra
Ross Stanton
Kayt Hogan
Brendan Jones



Costs and Fees Committee

Mark Brabazon SC (Chair)

Mark Walsh SC Michael Eagle

Philippe Doyle Gray Janet McDonald Michelle Castle

David Stewart Luke Fermanis Emma Beechey

Matt Karam Michael Wells

Michele Kearns (Clerk)

Criminal Law Committee

Stephen Odgers SC (Co-Chair) Gabrielle Bashir SC (Co-Chair)

Peter McGrath SC
David Jordan
Peter Lange
Richard Wilson
Kieran Ginges

Nathan Steel Sophia Beckett Lester Fernandez Sharyn Hall Paul Coady Robert Ranken

Helen Roberts Ben Bickford

Elizabeth McLaughlin

Nerissa Keay Bharan Narula Rose Khalilizadeh Georgina Westgarth

Linda Barnes

Academic members:

- Luke McNamara (UNSW)
- Adam Booker (UOW and UTS)
- Nicholas Cowdery QC (UNSW)

Diversity and Equality Committee

Kate Eastman SC (Chair)

Robert Dubler SC Rashelle Seiden SC

Melissa Fisher

Sophie Callan

Michael Seck

Brenda Tronson

Melanie Cairns

Nicholas Kelly

Nipa Dewan

Sarah Warren

Tarik Abdulhak

Sonia Tame

Sarah McCarthy

Jeh Coutinho (Clerk)

Education Committee

Robert Hollo SC (Chair)

Sally Dowling SC

Pat Griffin SC

Edward Muston SC

Ruth Higgins SC

Philip Hogan

Tiffany Wong

Michael O'Meara

Gillian Mahony

Sharyn Hall

Angela Cook

Faraz Maghami

Imtiaz Ahmed

Julia Roy

7

Louise Hulmes

Academic member: Alex Steel (UNSW)



Family Law Committee

Michael Kearney SC (Chair)
Hon Stephen O'Ryan QC
Peter Cummings SC
Peter Campton SC
Suzanne Christie SC
Claire Cantrall
Warwick Tregilgas
Mark Anderson
Derek Hand
John Longworth

First Nations Committee

Mary Rebehy

Tony McAvoy SC (Chair)
Chris Ronalds AO SC
Janet Manuell SC
Eric Wilson SC
Michael Wright SC
Louise Goodchild
Susan Phillips
Simeon Beckett
Nicholas Newton
Andrew Smith
Natasha Case
Charles Gregory
Damian Beaufils
Sian McGee
Adam Booker

Academic member: Jeni Engel (UNSW)

Human Rights Committee

Naomi Sharp SC (Co-Chair)
Simeon Beckett (Co-Chair)
Robert Dubler SC
Shane Prince SC
Mark Gibian SC
Miko Kumar
Trent Glover
Michelle Swift
Charles Gregory
Rob Davies
Ali Cheema
Celia Winnett
Madeleine Bridgett

Kate Barrett

Academic members:

Sebastian De Brennan

Professor Andrew Byrnes (UNSW)

Daniel Joyce(UNSW)

<u>Industrial Employment Health and Safety</u> Committee

Bruce Hodgkinson AM SC (chair)

Yaseen Shariff (secretary)

John Fernon SC
Ian Neil SC
Ian Latham
Anthony Britt
Bruce Miles
Anna Perigo
Oshie Fagir
Bilal Rauf

Jaye Alderson Vanja Bulut Maurice Baroni



Innovation & Technology Committee

Michael Green SC (Chair)

Angela Bowne SC Greg Waugh SC

Tamir Maltz

Beth Oliak

James King

Anton Hughes

Richard Scheelings

Wen Wu

Simon Walker (Clerk)

Academic member: Carolyn McKay

(USYD)

Legal Aid Committee

Dean Jordan SC (Chair)

Craig Smith SC

Alex Radojev

James Trevallion

David Price

Ashok Kumar

Emily Ito

Craig Mulvey

Jane Paingakulum

Scott Fraser

Emmanuel Kerkyasharian

Michelle Swift

Clyllyn Sperling

Jeffrey Clarke

Nerissa Keay

Rose Khalilizadeh

Talia Epstein

Thomas Liu

New Barristers Committee

Vanja Bulut (Chair)

Corrie Goodhand

David Birch

Stephen Ryan

Emily Graham

Nicholas Roucek

Joe Edwards

Talia Epstein

Kayt Hogan

Wen Wu

Eliot Olivier

Brendan Jones

Elizabeth Esber

Louise Hulmes

Ryan Coffey

Emma Hoolahan (Clerk)

Practice Development Committee

Ian Hemmings SC (Chair)

Michelle Painter SC

David Thomas SC

Christopher Peadon

Robert Carey

Philip Wallis

Stephanie Patterson

Geoff Farland

Sonia Stewart

Georgina Westgarth

Michele Kearns (Clerk)

Emma Hoolahan (Clerk)



Wellbeing Committee

Kylie Nomchong SC (Chair)

Peter McGrath SC Mark Dempsey SC Kevin Connor SC Todd Alexis SC Dauid Sibtain Christopher Taylor Cynthia Cochrane

Cynthia Cochrane Elizabeth James Kellie Edwards Tim Castle Geoff Farland

Chris Tam Sarah McCarthy Savitha Swami

Professional Conduct Committees

PCC #1

Edward Muston SC (Chair)

Robert Hollo SC Matthew Darke SC Kate Morgan SC Michael Izzo SC Vanessa Whittaker SC

Peter Russell Kieran Ginges Madeleine Avenell Elizabeth Raper Jennifer Single Patrick Knowles Daniel Klineberg Catherine Gleeson

Jo Little

Simon Fitzpatrick Radhika Withana Georgia Lewer Emma Bathurst Vanja Bulut

PCC#2

Anna Mitchelmore SC (Chair)

Todd Alexis SC
Nick Kidd SC
David McLure SC
Simon Buchen SC
Richard Sergi
Justin Young
Mark Seymour
Donna Ward
Scott Aspinall
James Arnott
Melanie Cairns
Nicholas Broadbent

Rob Ranken Nick Kelly Emma Beechey Zoe Hillman Jocelyn Williams

Belinda Baker

PCC #3

Dr Ruth Higgins SC (Chair)

Gail Furness SC
Peter McGrath SC,
Nicholas Owens SC
David Williams SC
Peter Newton
Elizabeth Welsh
Andre Zahra
Andrew Fox
James Emmett
Angela Petrie
Sophie Callan
Yaseen Shariff
Clarissa Amato
Declan Roche

Conor Bannan Stephanie Patterson

Nick Kirby



PCC #4

Michael McHugh SC (Chair) Garry McGrath SC Dominic Toomey SC Edward Cox SC Mark Anderson Luke Brasch Andrew Naylor David Rayment Nicholas Eastman Michelle England Nick Kabilafkas Ben Kremer Lisa Doust Amy Douglas-Baker Peter Maddigan Robert Yezerski Greg Antipas Jill Gatland

Talitha Hennessy