

## THE HON MARK DREYFUS KC MP

## ATTORNEY-GENERAL CABINET SECRETARY MEMBER FOR ISAACS

## Appointment of additional Members to the Administrative Appeals Tribunal

The Australian Government has appointed 54 additional members to the Administrative Appeals Tribunal (AAT) through a transparent and merit-based selection process, conducted in accordance with the AAT appointment guidelines. These appointments follow the 39 appointments announced on 15 September 2023.

The appointment of these members fulfils the Government's commitment to appoint at least 75 additional members to the AAT to address the existing backlog of cases – particularly in the Migration and Refugee Division. These appointments bring the total membership of the AAT to 358 members, with 209 full-time and 149 part-time members.

Under the previous government, backlogs and delays in the AAT were allowed to grow exponentially. This has come at a very real cost to the tens of thousands of people who rely on the AAT each year to independently review government decisions that have major and sometimes life-altering impacts on their lives.

The additional members will be appointed for a fixed term of two years, with the majority assigned to the Migration and Refugee Division. There will also be several members assigned to the National Disability Insurance Scheme Division and the Social Services and Child Support Division. Some members will be assigned to more than one Division.

The new Members will commence between 9 October 2023 and 5 February 2024. All Members appointed through this process will transition to the new administrative review body, the Administrative Review Tribunal, upon its commencement, for the remainder of their term.

On behalf of the government, I congratulate the below Members on their appointments. Members: Dr Dawn Barker Mrs Kay Bell Ms Alicia Bills Ms Melissa Bray Mr Michael Brereton Mr Patrick Burgess Ms Mary-Ann Cooper Mr Clyde Cosentino Dr Kevin Dodd Ms Suseela Durvasula Ms Jessica Edis Mrs Jennifer Ermest Ms Amy Faram Mr Garry Fitzgerald Mr Patrick Francis Ms Helen Glass Ms Amanda Goodier Mr Benjamin Goulding Mr John Paul Guemy Mrs Melissa Haag

Ms Athena Harris Ingall
Ms Noelle Hossen
Mr Denny Hughes
Mr Adam Johnson
Dr Rachelle Johnston
Ms Hollie Kerwin
Ms Hee-Jung Kim
Mr Matthew King
Mr John Kotsifas
Mr Joshua Le Vay
Mr Gary Ledson
Ms Rebecca Lee
Mr Anastasis Liveris
Mrs Lisa Maree Lo Piccolo
Mr Ben Lumsdaine
Ms Sophie Manera
Mr Shane Marshall
Ms Mary Mathew
Ms Rosemary Mathlin
Ms Janette McCahon
Prof Robert McLaughlin
Ms Stefanie Memmott

Ms Rebecca Mikhail

Ms Sydelle Muling

Ms Siran Nyabally

Ms Linda Pearson

Ms Alison Ryan

Ms Frances Simmons

Ms Catherine Wall

Prof Gregory Weeks

Ms Carolyn Wilson

Mrs Sue Zelinka

Ms Belinda Mericourt

Wednesday, 4 October 2023

Ms Sophia Ziebell-Barnes

## Media contact:

Stephen Spencer 0423 596 573 - <u>Stephen.Spencer@ag.gov.au</u>
Bella Skelton 0475 216 424 - <u>Bella.Skelton@ag.gov.au</u>