

THE HON MARK DREYFUS KC MP

ATTORNEY-GENERAL CABINET SECRETARY MEMBER FOR ISAACS

Appointments to the Defence Force Discipline Appeals <u>Tribunal</u>

I am pleased to announce five appointments to the Defence Force Discipline Appeals Tribunal (the Tribunal).

The Hon Justice John Logan RFD has been reappointed as President of the Tribunal until he attains the age of 70 in 2026.

The Hon Justice Melissa Perry has been appointed as Deputy President of the Tribunal for five years.

The Hon Justice Robertson Wright has been appointed as a new member of the Tribunal until he attains the age of 70 in 2025.

The Hon Justice John Halley and the Hon Justice Lincoln Crowley have been appointed as new Members of the Tribunal for five years each.

All appointments commence on 31 August 2023.

The Tribunal hears and determines appeals from courts martial and Australian Defence Force magistrates relating to service offences by Australian Defence Force personnel.

All appointees are respected judges and bring valuable knowledge and experience that will significantly bolster the Tribunal's capacity to consider matters within its jurisdiction.

In the lead up to these appointments, I undertook targeted consultation noting the highly specialised requirements of the Tribunal and its focus on military justice.

On behalf of the Government, I congratulate their honours on their appointments, and thank them for their willingness to serve on the Tribunal.

Biographies

Justice John Logan RFD

Justice Logan has served on the Tribunal since 2011 when he was initially appointed as a member. Justice Logan held the office of Deputy President of the Tribunal from 2015 until 2018 when he appointed as President. He is also a judge of the Federal Court of Australia and has an additional commission as a judge of the Supreme and National Courts of Papua New Guinea. Justice Logan has extensive military experience commencing in the Australian Army Reserve as an officer cadet and was then commissioned into the Australian Intelligence Corps in the Army Reserve. He held the rank of Major at the time of his transfer to the Standby List in that Corps. Thereafter, Justice Logan remained on that list until moving to the Retired List. He was awarded the Reserve Force Decoration (RFD) in respect of his service as an officer in the Army Reserve.

Justice Melissa Perry

Justice Perry has served as Member of the Tribunal since 2018. She is a judge of the Federal Court of Australia. Justice Perry's military experience includes service as a commissioned officer with the Royal Australian Air Force, Legal Specialist Reserves since 2011. In 2023, Justice Perry was promoted to rank of Air Commodore and appointed Deputy Judge Advocate General – Air Force for five years.

Justice Robertson Wright

Justice Wright is a Judge of the Supreme Court of New South Wales. Justice Wright's military experience includes service with the Australian Army Reserve where he has served extensively in various Regiments as a platoon commander, company second-in command and company commander.

Justice John Halley

Justice Halley is a Judge of the Federal Court of Australia and has served with the Australian Army Reserve commencing as an infantry officer. He has also served with the 2/17th Battalion Royal New South Wales Regiment and 8 Brigade in various capacities including as a platoon commander, intelligence officer, company second-in command and staff officer. Justice Halley was an Honorary Aidede-camp to His Excellency Rear Admiral Sir David Martin and His Excellency Rear Admiral Peter Sinclair.

Justice Lincoln Crowley

Justice Crowley is a judge of the Supreme Court of Queensland. His Honour's military experience includes service with the Australian Army Reserve, 31st Battalion, Royal Queensland Regiment, Townsville. Justice Crowley is the first indigenous judge appointed to a superior court in Australia.

Monday, 11 September 2023

Media contact:

Stephen Spencer 0423 596 573 - Stephen.Spencer@ag.gov.au