

THE HON MARK DREYFUS KC MP

ATTORNEY-GENERAL CABINET SECRETARY MEMBER FOR ISAACS

Appointments to the Administrative Review Tribunal and Administrative Appeals Tribunal

Today I announce my intention to assign 4 inaugural Jurisdictional Area Leaders for the Administrative Review Tribunal (ART).

Jurisdictional Area Leaders will be key leaders in the ART, with responsibilities for managing members and caseloads alongside decision-making functions. They will have an important role in ensuring Tribunal operations are tailored to meet user needs, and identifying trends and emerging issues.

Following consultation with the Hon Justice Emilios Kyrou AO, I intend to make the following assignments:

Deputy President Simone Burford as Jurisdictional Area Leader for Protection.

Ms Burford was first appointed to the Administrative Appeals Tribunal (AAT) in 2017 and was promoted to Deputy President in July 2024. Ms Burford is highly experienced in the protection jurisdiction, including serving as a practice leader in the AAT.

• Deputy President Kruna Dordevic as Jurisdictional Area Leader for the National Disability Insurance Scheme, and for Social Security.

Ms Dordevic was appointed to the former Social Security Appeals Tribunal in 2006, becoming a member of the AAT from amalgamation in 2015, and was promoted to Deputy President in July 2024. Ms Dordevic's significant tribunal experience includes serving as a practice leader in the AAT's Social Services and Child Support Division.

• Deputy President Gina Lazanas as Jurisdictional Area Leader for Taxation and Business, the Veterans and Workers' Compensation, and the General Jurisdictional Area.

Ms Lazanas has been a partner in several law firms, with a particular specialisation in tax and commercial cases. Ms Lazanas was first appointed to the AAT in 2012 and was promoted to Deputy President in July 2024. Ms Lazanas has undertaken complex work and assisted in the management and listing of cases across various areas of the AAT's jurisdiction.

• Deputy President Kathryn Millar as Jurisdictional Area Leader for Migration.

Ms Millar has served on a number of tribunals and panels, including the former Migration Review Tribunal and Refugee Tribunal, the former Social Security Appeals Tribunal, and the South Australian Civil and Administrative Tribunal. Ms Millar has been a member of the AAT since 2015, and was promoted to Deputy President in June 2024. Ms Millar is highly experienced in the migration jurisdiction, including serving as a practice leader in the AAT.

In addition, I intend to assign Justice Kyrou as the Jurisdictional Area Leader for the Intelligence and Security Jurisdictional Area.

These assignments will be finalised after the ART commences on 14 October 2024.

The Australian Government has also made a number of appointments to the AAT and the ART.

Thirteen Members have been appointed to the AAT, including 11 reappointments. The 13 Members will transition to the ART when it commences on 14 October for the remainder of their terms.

Twenty new General Members have been appointed to the ART, with their terms beginning on or after the ART's commencement on 14 October.

Each appointee was assessed as suitable for appointment by an independent assessment panel through a transparent and merit-based process, conducted in accordance with the Guidelines for appointments to the AAT and the transitional provisions legislated in the Administrative Review Tribunal (Consequential and Transitional Provisions No. 1) Act 2024.

I congratulate each of these members on their appointment.

The Government will announce further appointments in due course.

More information is available on the Attorney-General's website.

Appointments to the AAT

Members

Dr Adam Booker

Mr Neil Foster

Mrs Jocelyn Green

Mr Michael Griffin AM

Associate Professor Michael Horsburgh AM

Mr Peter Jensen

Dr Michael Jones

Mrs Elisa Kidston

Dr Robert King

Ms Donna Lambden

Dr Stephen Lewinsky

Mr Andrew Maryniak KC

Lieutenant Colonel Robert Ormston (Rtd)

Appointments to the ART

General Members

Ms Sheridan Aster

Dr Nicolas Augoustinos

Ms Diana Benk

Dr Max Bruce

Ms Rosalind Burke

Mr Mark Darian-Smith

Mr Kelvin Defranciscis

Ms Sandeep Dhillon

Mr Paul Favell

Mr Patrick Gardner

Ms Carolyn McAnally

Mr John McAteer

Ms Jillian Moir

Ms Myra Poon

Ms Felicity Rogers

Ms Justine Ross

Mr Warren Strange

Dr Tracey Summerfield

Mr Fraser Syme

Emerita Professor Margaret Walter

Monday, 16 September 2024

Media contacts:

Stephen Spencer 0423 596 573 - Stephen.Spencer@ag.gov.au Bella Skelton 0475 216 424 - Bella.Skelton@ag.gov.au