

Senator the Hon Michaelia Cash

Attorney-General Minister for Industrial Relations Deputy Leader of the Government in the Senate Senator for Western Australia

MEDIA RELEASE

4 April 2022

APPOINTMENTS TO THE ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL

The Australian Government is pleased to announce the appointment of members to the Administrative Appeals Tribunal.

The workload of the Tribunal has increased significantly in recent years, particularly in the Migration and Refugee Division and the National Disability Insurance Scheme Division. The Government is committed to ensuring the Tribunal is well-placed to deal with its increasing caseload, and these appointments will provide the Tribunal with more resources to conduct high quality merits review with minimum delay.

The Government has made the following new appointments:

Deputy President: The Hon Michael Mischin. Senior Members: Ms Joanne Collins, Mr Graham Connolly, Ms Ann Duffield, The Hon Pru Goward, Ms Dominique Grigg, Ms Katherine Harvey, Mr David James, Mr Wayne Pennell, Ms Karen Vernon. Members: Mr Lee Benjamin, Ms Cheryl Cartwright, Ms Kate Chapple, Mr David Cosgrave, Ms Tegen Downes, Mr Edward Howard, Mr Peter Katsambanis, Ms Brygyda Maiden, Mr Peter Papadopoulos.

Further to the new appointments the Government has promoted and/or extended the terms of the following members: Dr Denis Dragovic; Mr Bernard McCabe; Mr Justin Owen, Ms Antoinette Younes, Mr Mark Bishop, Mr Andrew George, Ms Linda Kirk, Ms Gina Lazanas, Ms Karen Synon, Ms Rebecca Bellamy, Mr John Cipolla, Ms Susan De Bono, Ms Kruna Dordevic, Ms Fiona Hewson, Mr Marten Kennedy, Mr Giovanni Longo, Mr Donald Morris, Ms Susan Trotter, Ms Rachel Westaway, Ms Donna Petrovich, Ms Jennifer Cripps Watts, Dr Bridget Cullen, Ms Kate Buxton, Ms Denise Connolly, Ms Kim Parker, Ms Lana Gallagher.

All of the appointees are highly qualified to undertake the important task of conducting merits review of government decisions.

On behalf of the Australian Government, I congratulate all appointees, and I look forward to the contribution they will make to the Tribunal.

MEDIA CONTACTS

Nari Clayton - Nari.Clayton@ag.gov.au - 0448 841 915