

THE HON MARK DREYFUS KC MP

ATTORNEY-GENERAL CABINET SECRETARY MEMBER FOR ISAACS

Administrative Appeals Tribunal appointments and reform process

The Albanese Government has appointed two new Deputy Presidents, and made short-term reappointment of 32 members and two Deputy Presidents to the Administrative Appeals Tribunal (AAT).

The appointments provide the AAT with continuity, stability and support to ensure its ongoing operation during this transition period.

The Honourable Justice Lisa Hespe and the Honourable Justice Geoffrey Kennett have been appointed as new Deputy Presidents for two-year terms.

Justice Hespe was appointed to the Federal Court of Australia in 2022, preceded by a 27-year career as a lawyer, including five years as a Senior Member of the AAT.

Justice Kennett was also appointed to the Federal Court of Australia in 2022. Prior to that appointment, Justice Kennett had an extensive career in the Australian Public Service, including as Counsel Assisting the Solicitor-General of the Commonwealth, before being called to the NSW Bar in 1998. He was appointed Senior Counsel in 2010.

Justices Hespe and Kennett bring extensive experience and expertise across a range of relevant practice areas and will enhance the AAT's capacity to consider matters within its jurisdiction.

Thirty-four reappointments have also been made to the AAT on a short-term basis until 22 December 2023. This includes 32 members and two Deputy Presidents, Ms Jan Redfern PSM and Mr Ian Molloy.

Consistent with the requirements for short-term reappointments to the AAT, views were sought from the Acting President of the AAT about members' suitability for short-term reappointment and the ongoing operational needs of the AAT.

On behalf of the Government, I congratulate Justice Hespe, Justice Kennett, and the reappointed Deputy Presidents and members on their respective appointments.

Reform update

The Government is continuing work to develop legislation to establish a new federal administrative review body.

The recent consultation process received 120 formal submissions and 287 short form responses to the public issues paper.

These submissions, together with contributions from stakeholders at events held during the consultation period, will inform the design of the new body. As will the advice from the Expert Advisory Group chaired by former High Court Justice the Honourable Patrick Keane AC KC.

Information about the reform process is available on the Attorney-General's Department website.

Appointments to the AAT Deputy Presidents

Honourable Justice Lisa Hespe Honourable Justice Geoffrey Kennett

Short-term reappointments to the AAT Deputy Presidents

Ms Jan Redfern PSM Mr Ian Molloy

Members

Mr David Barker

Mr Michael Biviano

Mr Peter Booth

Mr Michael Bradford

Dr Christhilde Breheny

Ms Nicole Burns

Ms Justine Clarke

Ms Christine Cody

Mr Damian Creedon

Mr Brendan Darcy

Ms Nicola Findson

Ms Tania Flood

Ms Margaret Forrest

Mr Nicholas Gaudion

Mr Peter Haag

Ms Linda Holub

Ms Noelle Hossen

Ms Penelope Hunter

Ms Christine Kannis

Mr Roger Maguire

Ms Deborah Mitchell

Mr Peter Newton SC

Professor Julie Quinlivan

Ms Tamara Quinn

Mr Frank Russo

Ms Roslyn Smidt

Mr David Thompson

Mr Ian Thompson

Mr Dominic Triaca

Mr Peter Vlahos

Brigadier Anthony Warner AM LVO (Rtd)

Mr Paul Windsor

Friday, 2 June 2023

Media contacts:

Stephen Spencer 0423 596 573 - <u>Stephen.Spencer@ag.gov.au</u> Jayne Simpson 0459 916 565 - <u>Jayne.Simpson@ag.gov.au</u>