

THE HON MARK DREYFUS KC MP

ATTORNEY-GENERAL CABINET SECRETARY MEMBER FOR ISAACS

Appointments to the Administrative Review Tribunal and Administrative Appeals Tribunal

The Australian Government has made a number of appointments to the existing Administrative Appeals Tribunal (AAT) and the new Administrative Review Tribunal (ART).

Nineteen new Members have been appointed to the AAT. The appointees will begin their terms on 30 September. The 19 members will transition to the ART when it commences on 14 October for the remainder of their terms.

Fifteen new members have been appointed to the ART, comprising one non-judicial Deputy President, six Senior Members and eight General Members.

Each appointee was assessed as suitable for appointment by an independent assessment panel through a transparent and merit-based process, conducted in accordance with the <u>Guidelines for appointments to the AAT</u> and the transitional provisions legislated in the Administrative Review Tribunal (Consequential and Transitional Provisions No. 1) Act 2024.

I congratulate each of these members on their appointment.

The Government will announce further appointments to the AAT and the ART in due course.

More information is available on the Attorney-General's website.

Appointments to the AAT

Members

Mr John Boultbee AM Dr Sevda Clark Ms Bernadette Day Mr Thomas Ellison Mr Jonathan Hanton Ms Sophie Jones Ms Deborah Keenan Ms Suzanne Leal Ms Louise McBride Ms Louise Prychidczuk Mr Andrew Rozdilsky Ms Emily Rutherford Ms Imogen Selley Ms Fiona Sneath Ms Claire Stokes Mrs Sarah Thrift Dr Andrea Treble Ms Shyla Vohra Ms Magdalena Wysocka

Appointments to the ART

Non-judicial Deputy President Mr Peter Britten-Jones **Senior Members** Mr Mark Harrowell Ms Jane Lye Ms Virginia Ryan Professor Peta Spender Mr Robert Titterton OAM Mr James Walsh **General Members** Mr Christian Carney Ms Felicity Eylward Ms Helen Grutzner Dr Roderick McRae Dr Gerard Sammon Ms Rebecca Smith Mr Bruce Wells

Monday, 2 September 2024

Media contacts:

Ms Danae Younger

Stephen Spencer 0423 596 573 - <u>Stephen.Spencer@ag.gov.au</u>
Bella Skelton 0475 216 424 - <u>Bella.Skelton@ag.gov.au</u>