

Mike Baird MP Premier of NSW Minister for Infrastructure Minister for Western Sydney

MEDIA RELEASE

Tuesday 6 May 2014

NSW GOVERNMENT APPOINTMENTS

NSW Premier Mike Baird today announced the appointment of Stuart Ayres as Minister for Police and Emergency Services and the promotion of Matthew Mason-Cox to the NSW Cabinet team.

"Stuart Ayres has shown a huge amount of passion and dedication as Fair Trading Minister, Minister Assisting the Premier on Western Sydney, and Member for Penrith," said Mr Baird

"He thoroughly deserves the challenge of the key Police and Emergency Services portfolio, and I know that he will continue to work hard to improve frontline delivery across this state, while delivering in his role as Minister for Sport and Recreation."

Mr Baird said he was delighted to promote Matthew Mason-Cox into Cabinet.

"Matthew has been a hardworking Treasury Parliamentary Secretary over the past three years, and has the skills to excel in his new role to cut the red tape burden on small business and help protect consumers," said Mr Baird.

Mr Baird said Andrew Constance will take on additional responsibility with the portfolio of Industrial Relations and Rob Stokes will take on Minister for the Central Coast, while Duncan Gay will take on the role of Government Leader of the NSW Legislative Council.

"Duncan's promotion to leader of the Upper House reflects the extraordinary high regard in which he is held by his Parliamentary colleagues," said Mr Baird.

Mr Baird also announced the appointment of five new Parliamentary Secretaries to support the new NSW Liberals & Nationals Cabinet.

"Each new member of this team has shown drive and dedication over the past three years," Mr Baird said.

"This promotion is an acknowledgement of that work and will provide them with the opportunity use their energy and skills to make a contribution to the entire State."

The new Parliamentary Secretaries are:

• Baulkham Hills MP David Elliott, who becomes Parliamentary Secretary to the Premier for Youth, Homelessness and the Centenary of ANZAC

- Port Macquarie MP Leslie Williams, who becomes Parliamentary Secretary for Renewable Energy
- Monaro MP John Barilaro, who becomes Parliamentary Secretary for Small Business and Regional Development
- Hornsby MP Matt Kean, who becomes Parliamentary Secretary for Communities.
- The Hon. Catherine Cusack, MLC, who becomes Parliamentary Secretary for Tertiary Education and Skills.

Other changes in the Parliamentary Secretaries team include the appointment of Mark Speakman to the role of Parliamentary Secretary for Treasury.

"The NSW Liberals & Nationals Government is focussed on delivering results for the people of NSW. I am confident that this team will continue to deliver improved infrastructure and better services for our community," Mr Baird said.

MEDIA: Rachael Storey – 0467 741 310

NEW SOUTH WALES CABINET LIST OF MINISTERS

The Honourable Michael Bruce Baird MP

Premier, Minister for Infrastructure, and Minister for Western Sydney

The Honourable Andrew John Stoner MP

Deputy Premier, Minister for Trade and Investment, Minister for Regional Infrastructure and Services, Minister for Tourism and Major Events, Minister for Small Business, and Minister for the North Coast

The Honourable Gladys Berejiklian MP

Minister for Transport, and Minister for the Hunter

The Honourable Adrian Piccoli MP

Minister for Education

The Honourable Duncan John Gay MLC

Minister for Roads and Freight, and Vice President of the Executive Council

The Honourable Anthony John Roberts MP

Minister for Resources and Energy

The Honourable Jillian Gell Skinner MP

Minister for Health, and Minister for Medical Research

The Honourable Andrew James Constance MP

Treasurer, and Minister for Industrial Relations

The Honourable Prudence Jane Goward MP

Minister for Planning, and Minister for Women

The Honourable Bradley Ronald Hazzard MP

Attorney General, and Minister for Justice

The Honourable Gabrielle Cecelia Upton MP

Minister for Family and Community Services

The Honourable Katrina Ann Hodgkinson MP

Minister for Primary Industries, Assistant Minister for Tourism and Major Events

The Honourable Kevin John Humphries MP

Minister for Natural Resources, Lands and Water, and Minister for Western NSW

The Honourable John George Ajaka MLC

Minister for Ageing, Minister for Disability Services, and Minister for the Illawarra

The Honourable Stuart Laurence Ayres MP

Minister for Police and Emergency Services, Minister for Sport and Recreation, and Minister Assisting the Premier on Western Sydney

The Honourable Victor Michael Dominello MP

Minister for Citizenship and Communities, Minister for Aboriginal Affairs, Minister for Veterans Affairs, and Assistant Minister for Education

The Honourable Robert Gordon Stokes MP

Minister for the Environment, Minister for Heritage, Minister for the Central Coast, and Assistant Minister for Planning

The Honourable Troy Wayne Grant MP

Minister for Hospitality, Gaming and Racing, and Minister for the Arts

The Honourable Dominic Francis Perrottet MP

Minister for Finance and Services

The Honourable Paul Lawrence Toole MP

Minister for Local Government

The Honourable Jai Travers Rowell MP

Minister for Mental Health, and Assistant Minister for Health

The Honourable Matthew Mason-Cox MLC

Minister for Fair Trading

NSW PARLIAMENTARY SECRETARIES

Mr John Barilaro, Member for Monaro

Parliamentary Secretary for Small Business and Regional Development

Mr Craig Baumann MP, Member for Port Stephens

Parliamentary Secretary for Regional Planning

The Honourable David Clarke MLC

Parliamentary Secretary for Justice

The Honourable Catherine Cusack MLC

Parliamentary Secretary for Tertiary Education and Skills

Mr David Elliott MP, Member for Baulkham Hills

Parliamentary Secretary to the Premier for Youth, Homelessness and the Centenary of ANZAC

Mr Matt Kean, Member for Hornsby

Parliamentary Secretary for Communities

The Honourable Charlie Lynn MLC

Parliamentary Secretary for Veterans Affairs

Mr Daryl Maguire MP, Member for Wagga Wagga

Parliamentary Secretary to the Premier for Rural and Regional Affairs

The Honourable Melinda Pavey MLC

Parliamentary Secretary for Regional and Rural Health

Mr Geoff Provest MP, Member for Tweed

Parliamentary Secretary for Police and Emergency Services

Mr Mark Speakman MP, Member for Cronulla

Parliamentary Secretary for Treasury

Mrs Leslie Williams, Member for Port Macquarie Parliamentary Secretary for Renewable Energy

Mr Ray Williams MP, Member for Hawkesbury

Parliamentary Secretary for Transport and Roads