

WOMEN BARRISTERS FORUM

MINUTES OF ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING 2014

HELD: Thursday 22 May 2014 at 5.00pm PLACE: Conference Room 3, NSW Bar Association, Basement, Selborne Chambers, 174 Phillip Street, Sydney

Present:

Mandy Tibbey (Chair)

Carol Webster SC (Chair for the purposes of election of office bearers)

Amy Douglas-Baker

Eva Elbourne

Lee-May Saw

Geraldine Hoeben

Ishita Sethi

Renee Bianchi

Brenda Tronson

Stephanie Patterson

Kerrie Leotta

Verity McWilliam

Sarah Talbert

Michelle Painter SC (Chair following her election)

Kate Eastman SC

Megan Black

Kate Morgan

Michelle McMahon

Rosalind Winfield

Kavita Balendra

Theresa Dinh

Margaret Holz

Mary Rebehy

Dominique Hogan-Doran

The meeting opened at 5.00pm.

Apologies

Jane Needham SC, Caroline Dobraszczyk, Katherine Johnson, Larissa Andelman, Deborah Dinnen, Susan Kluss, Mary Walker, Wendy Strathdee, Olivia Dinkha, Eraine Grotte, Tova Gordon, Caroline Needham SC, Jenny Whitaker, Lisa Doust,



Sandrah Foda, Julia Baird SC, Louise Byrne, Kelly Rees SC, Fenja Berglund, Therese Catanzariti, Ingrid King, Melissa Fisher, Fiona McLeod SC, Elizabeth Raper, Zali Steggall, Kate Barrett, Vanessa Bosnjak, Kristina Stern SC, Sera Mirzabegian.

It was noted that WBF is a section of the NSW Bar Association and that it operates under The Terms of Reference and Rules of the Women Barristers Forum.

The meeting noted that a total of 27 proxies had been received from the following persons:

Joanna Davidson, Katherine Johnson, Caroline Dobraszczyk, Susan Kluss, Eraine Grotte, Olivia Dinkha, Mary Walker, Wendy Strathdee, Larissa Andelman, Melissa Fisher, Elizabeth Raper, Fiona McLeod SC, Ingrid King, Tova Gordon, Lisa Doust, Louise Byrne, Jenny Whitaker, Sandrah Foda, Julia Baird SC, Kelly Rees SC, Fenja Berglund, Therese Catanzariti, Caroline Needham SC, Sera Mirzabegian, Zali Steggall, Kate Barrett, Kristina Stern, Vanessa Bosnjak

Mandy Tibbey tabled the Annual Report of the WBF and spoke to the contents of the Report.

Special Resolutions passed:

1. Special Resolution that the WBF become a committee of the Bar Association.

No proposer; motion not put.

WBF to remain a Section of the Bar Association.

Resolutions passed:

1. Resolved that the Annual Report of WBF be accepted.

Proposed: Amy Douglas-Baker Seconded: Lee-May Saw Passed unopposed

- 1A. Formal vote of thanks to Megan Black and to the Bar Association for supporting WBF.
- 1B. Resolved that the Minutes of the AGM of 19 June 2013 be approved.

Proposed: Kerrie Leotta Seconded: Rosalind Winfield

Passed unopposed



2. Resolved that the Financial Report of the Treasurer for the financial year 2012-2013 be approved.

Proposed: Kerrie Leotta Seconded: Brenda Tronson

Passed unopposed

3. A resolution that the Financial Report of the Treasurer for the period 1 July 2013 be approved.

No report to consider; motion not put.

4. Nomination and election of office bearers: the members elected the following persons to the following offices.

Chair: Michelle Painter SC

Vice Chair: Kate Morgan Vice Chair: Lee-May Saw

Secretary: Amy Douglas-Baker Secretary: Kavita Balendra Treasurer: Rosaline Winfield

The meeting thanked Carol Webster SC for chairing the election, and Dominique Hogan-Doran for acting as returning officer in the ballot.

The meeting formally thanked Mandy Tibbey for her service as Chair of WBF

Michelle Painter SC as incoming Chair formally co-opted all attendees at the AGM as part of the committee.

5. Vote of thanks to Mandy Tibbey for her service as Chair of WBF.

Acclamation of all present.

Meeting closed at 6.05pm