

Victor Dominello Minister for Finance, Services and Property

Mark Speakman Attorney General

MEDIA RELEASE

Friday, 16 November 2018

WORKERS COMPENSATION COMMISSION PRESIDENT RETIRES

The Hon. Judge Greg Keating has today announced he will retire as President of the Workers Compensation Commission (WCC), after 11 years of service.

Minister for Finance, Services and Property Victor Dominello said Judge Keating had made a significant contribution to the NSW Workers Compensation system, overseeing fair, timely and effective dispute resolution services to injured workers.

"On behalf of the NSW Government, I would like to sincerely thank Judge Keating for his service to the community and wish him well in his future endeavours," Mr Dominello said.

Attorney General Mark Speakman said Judge Keating was appointed Judge of the District Court and President of the WCC in November 2007, and reappointed in 2014.

"Judge Keating has undertaken both appointments with great dedication, intellect, gravitas and professionalism," Mr Speakman said.

"During Judge Keating's term as President, he led the development of workers compensation jurisprudence during a time of significant change in the law. Under his leadership, the WCC has been regarded as a trusted tribunal delivering outcomes for NSW citizens."

Judge Keating will retire on 7 December 2018 after more than 38 years' experience in the law.

Prior to his appointment to the bench, Judge Keating was the Managing Partner of McClelland's Lawyers until 2007 and practiced extensively in insurance and industrial law. He also previously served as an acting Judge of the District Court from 1996 to 1999.

Judge Keating was a Director of the then-WorkCover Authority of NSW from 1998 to 2007, and served on the Authority's audit committee. He has also held honorary directorships of the Cancer Council of NSW and the Paraplegic and Quadriplegic Association of NSW.

MEDIA: William Sparling | Minister Dominello | 0408 576 636 Damien Smith | Attorney General | 0417 788 947