

Bar Association – 2018/2019 Committees

Below are the membership lists for the Bar Association's 2018/2019 committees.

The new committees formally come into effect on 2 July 2018. However, in practice the 'changeover' will occur over the next week. The Committee secretary will be in contact with the outgoing and new committees to settle the details.

As happens every year, we have received an overwhelming number of offers to assist in the work of the committees. It is simply not possible to take up everyone's offer. Thank you to everyone who volunteered to serve.

It is important for there to be some turnover in committee membership each year and that committee membership reflects as wide a cross-section of the Bar as possible. There is neither room on a committee, nor is it fair to others who wish to be on a committee, for members who (for whatever reason) are not able to make a sustained contribution to the work of their committees. In addition, in order to accommodate the interests of as many members as possible, and to maximise the opportunities available to members, as a general rule, no applicant will sit on more than two committees. The new committees have been chosen with all these things in mind.

During the year the Bar Council will inevitably need the assistance of members on a wide range of matters that do not fall within a committee's jurisdiction. Sometimes, some committees have more work than they can manage. Assistance may be sought from those who have volunteered but who at this time we have been unable to place on a committee.

If anyone selected for membership of a committee is at any time unable to devote sufficient time to their Committee work, I ask that he or she let me or the Executive Director know as soon as possible.

I would like to thank all those members who are not continuing on a committee this year for all their assistance in past years. It is in accordance with the highest standards of the profession that so many members of the Bar keep offering to work on committees, often for many years.

Finally, you may note that two new committees, First Nations and Industrial, Employment, Health & Safety appear on the list this year. These were recently created by Bar Council and the inaugural committee members are listed. There will be the usual call for nominations for these committees next year.

Arthur Moses SC President

26 June 2018



Alternative Dispute Resolution Committee

Mary Walker (Chair)
Stephen Walsh QC
Max Kimber SC
Peter Callaghan SC
John Fernon SC
Michael Eagle
Steven Goldstein
Neil Jackson
Hugh Stowe
Jodi Steele
Fiona Sinclair
Deborah Robinson
Elizabeth Picker
Terry Mehigan
Jane Muir

Bar News Committee

Ingmar Taylor SC (Chair)

Gail Furness SC

Anthony Cheshire SC

Farid Assaf
Dominic Villa
Penny Thew
Daniel Klineberg
Catherine Gleeson
Lyndelle Barnett

Victoria Brigden

Juliet Curtin Kevin Tang Belinda Baker

Stephen Ryan

Joe Edwards

Common Law Committee

Robert Sheldon SC (Chair)

Simon Harben SC Eugene Romaniuk SC

Michael Inglis Lorna McFee Richard Royle Richard Sergi Elizabeth Welsh Paresh Khandhar William Fitzsimmons Andrew Combe

Andrew Combe Kavita Balendra Phillipa Clingan Ross Stanton Andrew Oag Kayt Hogan

Costs and Fees Committee

Mark Brabazon SC (Chair)

Mark Walsh SC Michael Eagle

Philippe Doyle Gray
Andrew Harding
Janet McDonald
David Stewart
Luke Fermanis
Nicholas Mirzai

Emma Beechey

Criminal Law Committee

Stephen Odgers SC (Co-Chair) Gabrielle Bashir SC (Co- Chair)

John Agius SC Tim Game SC Ian Bourke SC Peter Skinner David Jordan Nanette Williams

Peter Lange Richard Wilson Kieran Ginges Nathan Steel Sophia Beckett Lester Fernandez Sharyn Hall Paul Coady



Robert Ranken Sophie Anderson Elizabeth McLaughlin Belinda Baker Rose Khalilizadeh

Academic members

- Nicholas Cowdery QC
- Luke McNamara (UNSW)
- Alex Steel (UNSW)
- David Hamer (USYD)

Diversity and Equality Committee

Kate Eastman SC (Chair) Richard Weinstein SC Richard Scruby SC Stephanie Fendekian Melissa Fisher Penny Thew Sophie Callan Brenda Tronson Aditi Rao Lee May Saw Samuel Pararajasingham

Nicholas Kelly
Zoe Hillman
Victoria Cha
Surya Palaniappan
Sonia Tame
Alexandra Rose
Diana Tang
Jeh Coutinho (Clerk)

Education Committee

Kelly Rees SC (Chair) Graham Turnbull SC Richard Weinstein SC Robert Hollo SC Ian Bourke SC Patrick Griffin SC
Edward Muston SC
David O'Neil
John-Paul Redmond
Sean Docker
Michael O'Meara
Gillian Mahony
Tamara Phillips
Jocelyn Williams
Louise Hulmes
David Birch

Academic member: Alex Steele

Family Law Committee

Michael Kearney SC (Chair)
Peter Cummings SC
Jonathon Priestley SC
Peter Campton SC
Lynette Judge
Warwick Tregilgas
Mark Anderson
Suzanne Christie
Derek Hand
Angela Petrie
Giles Stapleton
John Longworth
Claire Cantrall

First Nations Committee

Tony McAvoy SC (Chair) Chris Ronalds AO SC Janet Manuell SC Kara Shead SC Susan Phillips Simeon Beckett Andrew Smith Vanessa Bosnjak Lisa-Claire Hutchinson Damian Beaufils



Sian McGee Andrew Boe Jeni Engel (Academic)

Human Rights Committee

Angus Stewart SC (Co-Chair)
Naomi Sharp SC (Co-Chair)
Richard Lancaster SC
Michael Wright SC
Simeon Beckett
Shane Prince
Trent Glover
Georgia Lewer
Celia Winnett
Victor Kline
Madeleine Bridgett
Sebastian De Brennan

Academic member: Professor Andrew

Byrnes (UNSW)

Industrial, Employment, Health & Safety Committee

Bruce Hodgkinson SC (Chair) Yaseen Shariff (Secretary)

John Fernon SC Anthony Britt Mark Gibian Bruce Miles Oshie Fagir Jaye Alderson Vanja Bulut Lucy Saunders Maurice Baroni

Innovation & Technology Committee

Michael Green SC (Chair) Greg Waugh SC Beth Oliak James King Talitha Fishburn Anton Hughes Emma Beechey James Mack Sonia Stewart Wen Wu

Legal Aid Committee

Dean Jordan SC (Chair)

Tim Game SC
Alex Radojev
David Price
Mark Dennis
Ashok Kumar
Greg Bullard
Nathan Steel
Sharyn Hall
Scott Fraser

Emmanuel Kerkyasharian

Michelle Swift Clyllyn Sperling Stephen Lawrence Rose Khalilizadeh Talia Epstein

New Barristers Committee

James Mack (Chair)
Geoff Farland
Corrie Goodhand
Louise Hulmes
David Birch
Stephen Ryan
Emily Graham
Nick Roucek
Wen Wu
Kayt Hogan
Brendan Jones
Trish Hoff (Clerk)
Michelle Kearns (Clerk)

Practice Development Committee



Elizabeth Cheeseman SC (Chair) Ian Hemmings SC

Michelle Painter SC

Christopher Freeman

Peter Lowe

David Thomas

William Edwards

Robert Carey

Philip Wallis

Stephanie Patterson

Victoria O'Halloran

Geoff Farland

Sonia Stewart

Michele Kearns (Clerk)

Paul Walker (Clerk)

Wellbeing Committee

Kylie Nomchong SC (Chair)

Todd Alexis SC

Mark Dempsey SC

Kevin Connor SC

Peter McGrath SC

Patrick Griffin SC

Kellie Edwards

Theresa Baw

Elizabeth James

Tim Castle

Chris Tam



Professional Conduct Committees

PCC #1

Edward Muston SC (Co-Chair) Kate Morgan SC (Co-Chair)

Timothy Game SC Anthony McInerney SC

Matthew Darke SC

Peter Russell Kieran Ginges Madeleine Avenell Vanessa Whittaker

Michael Izzo
Jennifer Single
Reg Graycar
Jonathan Clark
Daniel Klineberg
Catherine Gleeson
Lisa-Claire Hutchinson
Surya Palaniappan

PCC #2

Richard Weinstein SC (Chair)

Wendy Abraham QC

Todd Alexis SC

Ingmar Taylor SC

Nick Kidd SC

David McLure SC

Richard Sergi

Justin Young

Mark Seymour

Simon Buchen

Anna Mitchelmore

Donna Ward

Scott Aspinall

Nicholas Broadbent

Rob Ranken

Nick Kelly

Courtney Ensor

Julia Roy

Jocelyn Williams

PCC #3

Dr Ruth Higgins SC (Chair)

David Williams SC

Gail Furness SC

Nicholas Owens SC

Gaby Bashir SC

Sheila Kaur-Bains

Elizabeth Welsh

Patricia Lane

Andre Zahra

Clarissa Amato

James Emmett

Angela Petrie

Yaseen Shariff

Jonathan Kay Hoyle

Hayley Bennett

Nick Kirby

Stephanie Patterson

Brandan Lim

PCC #4

Andrew Bell SC (Chair)

Michael McHugh SC

Peter McGrath SC

Angus Stewart SC

Mark Anderson

Andrew Naylor

Nicholas Eastman

Nick Kabilafkas

Michelle England

Ben Kremer

Sophie Callan

Lisa Doust

Amy Douglas-Baker

Trent Glover

Robert Yezerski

Greg Antipas



Jill Gatland